1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(booman help) shaq fu a legend reborn

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by batmanm0b1e, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi booman

    https://www.gog.com/game/shaqfu_a_legend_reborn

    well i got shaq fu a legend reborn game. Looks really funny and good wish actors would be in more games, I know snoop dogg was going to make a game but i guess didn't. Anyways back to the game, I tried this game in wine first wine 3.9 and aat first the game didn't load the movie cutscene and game at all so i i tried different win versions still no luck. Now i thought why not try wine staging so i had wine staging 3.8 in playonlinux and got it from lutris/runners/ started game and it worked but the movie cutscene didn't show video just the words. SO ok. I tried all the staging ones with the same result. So right now i'm on wine staging 3.9 but the movie cutscene does not show up just the words. How can i fix this booman?


    I know when i installed the game with GOG it installed DirectX9.0c

    I installed
    directx9 dlls
    Microsoft fonts
    vcrun 2008
    vcrun 2010

    thats it. the video cutscene still does show up
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I can't find anything about this game related to Linux and testing.
    So you might be the first to try it.

    Try going to the game directory and look for the video's folder.
    What format/codec are the video's?

    One thing I have tried in the past is install an application call LAV Filter
    This is a media player that installs all the codecs kinda like VLC player.

    If you can live without the video's, just rename the video directory so the game can't find them.
  3. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK so i checked the videos they are all MP4 format. Also, how do I install LAV filter its not in Ubuntu do i do it in wine
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    That is good, Mp4 are usually easy to play... Its just hard to figure out how they are played in-game.

    1. Download LAVFilter
    2. Save to your Desktop
    3. Launch PlayOnLinux
    4. Click Configure
    5. Select Shaq Fu on the left side
    6. Click Miscellaneous Tab
    7. Click "Run an .exe file in this virtual drive"
    8. Navigate to your Desktop
    9. Select LAVFilter
    10. Click Open
    11. Follow install instructions
    12. Close Configure
    13. Try game again
    If that doesn't work, then we'll try Windows XP setting and install Windows Media Player with codecs
  5. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed LAVfilter and tried the game still no video. and now that i did that there's the words still but now no audio. Which is werid.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Hmm, then the game doesn't see the installed media player and codecs.
    This is always a difficult one to troubleshoot.
    Sometimes these old games assume you have a specific media player installed and just use the DLL's and codecs from it.
    So lets try Windows Media Player.

    1. Go to Configure again
    2. Make sure Shaq Fu virtual drive is selected on the left side
    3. Click Wine Tab
    4. Click Wine Configuration
    5. Applications Tab
    6. Select Windows XP
    7. Click OK
    8. Back to Configure
    9. Click Components Tab
    10. Scroll down to Windows Media Player 9
    11. Install it
    12. Install Windows Media Player 10 as well
    13. Scroll down more and install Windows Media codecs
    14. Click Wine Tab
    15. Restart Windows
    16. Close Configure
    17. Start game with DEBUG instead of Run
    18. Paste all of the output here in "quotes" so I can see the errors
  7. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK i tried this and windows media player would not install in 64bit. i tried both of them it gave me an error.


    But I got good news after you said install LAVfilter. It hit me let me try K-Lite codec pack i did and the video works and the audio also. i get 3 boxes in my taskbar that pop up when the video plays. It works sort of it cuts off some not sure why but i think i'm on the right path

    anymore ideas let me know

    Thank you
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh, yeah they only work in 32-bit virtual drives.
    Do you need a 64-bit virtual drive for Shaq Fu?
    You might want to create a new 32-bit virtual drive and re-install to see if it works.
  9. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah you need a 64bit. its a 64bit game sadly how low the specs are i would have thought it be 32bit game
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Geesh, I had no idea this was a newer game.
    Was it made with Unity Engine?
  11. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yep, its Unity Engine. You got it :)
  12. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well after running staging 3.9.x86-x64 in playonlinux the video cut off and stopped. SO i can confirm i fixed it now i went back to wine.3.9 and the video plays fully through with K-lite codec pack installed.

    I will be making some tutorials here on gamersonlinux.

    I will be PMing you booman if this is ok. I'll be needing some help. How do you take the screens again?
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Sorry, I've been sick this week with the flu.
    Most unity games run well in Wine, but there are a few that refuse to run.
    Check and see if there are some Visual C requirements for it?
    Otherwise, install them all:
    • vcrun2008
    • vcrun2010
    • vcrun2012
    You may have to install vcrun2015 since it is a newer game, but its a manual process.
    First, set Windows back to Windows 7

    Start PlayOnLinux

    Click Configure

    Select virtual drive shortcut (left side)


    Miscellaneous Tab
    Click "Open a Shell"
    Copy/Paste:
    Code:
    wget  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Winetricks/winetricks/master/src/winetricks
    Press Enter

    Copy/Paste
    Code:
    chmod +x winetricks
    Press Enter

    Copy/Paste
    Code:
    WINEPREFIX=/home/username/.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/gamename ./winetricks -q vcrun2015
    Update the path with your Linux username and virtual drive name
    Press Enter

    Note: Replace "username" with your login

    Close Shell
    Close Configure

Share This Page