1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen Test

Discussion in 'Games' started by Aryvandaar, Jan 19, 2016.

  1. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I bought Dragon's Dogma recently and I decided to get it running in wine. I did a basic steam install on playonlinux, installed the game and ran it. Game started without any issues, and no weird problems in the menu, but I had no sound. I'm working on that now.

    I have pulseaudio in my system atm, and playonlinux / wine runs with that backend.
  2. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Sound issue fixed. Enabled openal use flag for wine.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh, you didn't have to install OpenAL? That is really cool!
    Did you make the change in Wine Configuration, Library tab?
  4. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Wine pulls openal if you enable openal as use flag (gentoo/funtoo). I'm having another problem now. A loading screen after some gameplay and killing a boss that seems to go forever.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Uh oh, check the debug when it happens
  6. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Code:
    fixme:d3d:wined3d_occlusion_query_ops_get_data 0x18595e48 Wrong thread, returning 1.
    
    That is the line that keeps repeating. I've been testing the game and looking through the log for hours now. Installed some libraries, but nothing seem to change. I did a bit of searching on that error, and it seems like it could be be a bug in wine.
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Normally the fixme's aren't a problem. It's more of a warning of something that needs to be fixed.
    You could always try a different version of Wine.
    Some games run fine until a certain point and then have memory errors or some specific that initiates and causes a problem in Wine.
    Do you think the loading screen initiates a cutscene?
    You might be able to disable videos or cutscenes t continue the game.
  8. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Yeah, at that point there is supposed to be a cutscene. I will do some more testing tomorrow. Thanks.
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, then look in the game files and see if there is a folder for movies or video's. You can rename it and see if the game will continue without the cutscene. Kinda sucks, but better than not playing at all.
    If the video requires a specific codec to play, you will have to find out what type of codec it needs and then install a video player like Windows Media Player or VLC
  10. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    You are correct. I played past the point of the videos on my laptop and loaded the save in wine on my desktop afterwards. The game runs fine, although there are some significant FPS drops at times (down to 15-20 fps or so, maybe even lower). I have vlc and mplayer installed on my desktop, and both of them can play the wmv files.

    For the time being, I think I will put the project on hold. Not sure if I will recommend the game if anyone wants to run it in wine. I'll revisit it in the future and see if I can improve performance.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome, so there is a problem with the video. That is common with games, specially microsoft games.
    As for drops in frame rates, that could be related to memory leaks and/or buffer problems. Try testing with the Wine 1.8-d3d_doublebuffer
  12. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    In my case runs in some large test but after this i dont know, as booman said only way for test stability in many games is played in large times, for this reason if you have large tests or if you have lets play is much bettter

    This is very important in this point with games on wine

    System Specs Used in Tests


    Wine 1.9.1
    Nvidia Drivers 361.16 (.run package installation)
    Linux Mint 17.2 Raffaela XFCE Edition 64Bit - Kernel 4.0.0-040000-generic (ubuntu mainline)
    CPU: INTEL Pentium G3258 (Haswell 22nm) 4.1Ghz + Artic Cooling Alpine 11 Plus
    MEM: 8GB DDR3 1333 (2x4) Patriot value (dual channel: 21.3 gb/s)
    GPU: Zotac Nvidia Geforce GT630 (GK208 28nm: 384 Shaders / 8 ROPS) Zone Edition Passive Cooling 2GB DDR3 1800Mhz 64Bit (14.4Gb/s)
    BOARD: MSI H81M E33






    :)
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I rarely experience problems when a game initially runs in PlayOnLinux/Wine. Most game I will give at least 2-3 hours of testing before I consider it a success.
    But I have heard of some games that crash way into the game. My nemesis has always been Crysis II. That game plays pretty well with shadows turned off, but several chapters into the game it starts crashing left-n-right.
    Hence why we have those d3d_doublebuffer patched versions of Wine. Without them I couldn't play any Crisis games.
    I still have to re-test Crysis II again with the newest 1.8-d3d_doublebuffer version to see if it actually helps.
    mrdeathjr28 likes this.
  14. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yes Crysis is very problematic title, in this topic talk stefan dosinger about crysis problem and say why this problem can dont be resolved easily

    However in lastest times wine 1.9.x

    Them stay working in double buffer implementation, for this them suggest use arb buffer storage opengl extension

    Personally stay waiting this patch, when appears this must be solve problems in various games, maybe give more performance

    Back to testing duration, this is very annoying when game crash in last stages but as you said possibilty stay around

    However in my case put new personal record with resident evil hd remastered



    Of this game stay making lets play, for now i have played more than 15hrs and works stable until now

    :)
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Sorry to "hi jack" this thread with Crysis issues :p
    I've never tested Crysis I, II or Warhead with a staging version, so that will be my next test.
  16. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    The problems I have encountered aren't related to hardware. And I never got far enough to consider doing FPS tests. It's kinda pointless if I can't get the game to run without crashing.

    No problem. :)
  17. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Required for dragon's dogma dark arisen:

    directx9
    vcrun2010
    wmp10
    xact

    Game seems to run fine now, without crashing.
    booman likes this.
  18. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome! And the movies?
  19. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    The game runs very well. Movies play, and there is only weird texture bug that happens if I alt tab and go back in, parts of my character's cape is black before it "loads in" correctly.

    Game seems to run fine with pulseaudio. Although I use alsa for all games I run in playonlinux.

    Performance is not so great as on my laptop, but my laptop has a newer cpu Intel i7 4720HQ, while my desktop has an AMD FX 4130 (which is 4 years old). I'm seeing some fps drops at times, but it's not a lot. I also get less performance out of my desktop PC on newer games than on my laptop.

    For measuring FPS in Linux what do you guys use?

    I read somewhere that xact is required component for all Capcom titles, and possible wmp10, depending on the game.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross-platform_Audio_Creation_Tool
  20. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Feel free to do a step-by-step Guide and I'll post it to our front page.
    Just make sure to follow these "guidelines"

Share This Page