1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having trouble with URL posting

Discussion in 'Random Nonsense' started by Daniel~, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
  2. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    URL posting works the same way as with AOA:
    Code:
    [url=http://www.gamersonlinux.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=18&p=83&sid=729fa40529322073a8e2bebc1a282f24#p83]GamersOnLinux.com[/url]
    
    GamersOnLinux.com
    As you can see, the above code links to this post, but still shows just the GOL address.

    Code:
    [url]http://www.gamersonlinux.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=18&p=83&sid=729fa40529322073a8e2bebc1a282f24#p83[/url]
    
    http://www.gamersonlinux.com/forum/...2f24&sid=729fa40529322073a8e2bebc1a282f24#p83
    This code takes the text between the tags, and makes it a url.

    Does that help?
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I've had the same problem. The button only wraps the text with the code. the old forum had a pop-up where you simple paste the address.
  4. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Oh yeah? Hmm............you mean I've been doing it the hard way all this time? LOL
  5. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Really Gizmo!? You totally pulled a Daniel~?
    (I probably could have Said that better? ":O}

    If I understood what you've posted in the lest I probably wouldn't ask, but how hard would it be to incorporate the pop up url?

    Or would it be easier to explain your method to me so I can explain it to...everyone else who isn't a code master? ":O}
  6. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Ok, I've installed a mod that changes the way the URL button works in the editor. Give it a try and tell me what you think.
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Welcome to GamersOnLinux.com

    Still does the same thing. Just adds to the highlighted text.
    I didn't know you could modfiy the forums editor... cool
  8. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    If you highlight the text, then yes that's what it does. However, if you just click on the button without highlighting anything, it should pop a dialog.
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
  10. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    don't type anything, click url first, then copy your address and click OK
  12. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
  13. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Position your cursor where you want the link to appear. Click the 'url' button without hilighting anything.

    It will ask for the link name or 'url title' like "This is really cool". Type in the url title, then hit ok. Then it will ask you to enter the url. Type in the url like "http://www.gamersonlinux.com", then hit ok again.

    Like this: This is really cool

    Ya know, the whole point here was to make it EASIER. :)
  14. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I love GamersOnLinux

    That's wonderful! You one smart cookie Gizmo! Thank you, now I can tell others and begin my raise to power!!

    ( You could have just said that!) LOL
  15. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,254
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Can we improve, broaden the list of picture types we can upload...won't take jpeg uploads?

Share This Page