1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need a boot disc...

Discussion in 'Random Nonsense' started by Kaitain, Jan 31, 2018.

  1. Kaitain

    Kaitain Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I need a boot disc
    I need a boot disc to update my UEFI
    It's gotta be small and it's gotta be light
    and it's gotta be based upon Windows

    <ahem>

    Seriously. HP only supply Windows executables for EFI updates. I don't have Windows. I know there are Windows livecds around, but the only one I could find that gave me something like a Linux LiveCD was Gandalf's WinPE... and I don't want to download a 4GB image to install a 500k patch.

    Any recommendations?
    booman likes this.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    So why doesn't your UEFI support send updates to Linux Kernel developers?
    What about Mac UEFI updates? Are they expected to use Windows too?
  3. Kaitain

    Kaitain Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Why? I guess because HP are either, obstinate, lazy, or under contract with MS only to supply MS installers rather than bare images. Apple only supply Apple executables, and out of all manufacturers, only Dell makes it easy to update BIOS/UEFI from within Linux.

    I did... once... update a BIOS using Wine, for an old Lenovo N200 that I didn't care about anymore, but even then it was a little heart-stopping. I'm not sure my warranty covers fritzing my machine by installing the bootware under emulation.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    So this is like a catch 33
    Need to install a patch UEFI but with an OS you don't have.

    You can actually run Windows off a USB drive kinda like Linux live disk
  5. Kaitain

    Kaitain Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ...which was the sole purpose of this thread. Can you recommend a ready-made USB image?
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ah, ok...
    Well, I've never done it, but I can do some research.
    I can download a Windows 10 ISO from Microsoft's download tool and then figure out how to put it on a bootable USB.

    Technically, you can run the command line during the Windows setup without installing windows at all, but I don't know if your UEFI patch will run via command line?
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I found this article, but obviously you need to create the USB image in Windows.
    There is a chance it might work in Wine, but I'm not sure what dependencies the WinToUSB will need.
  8. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    I once had to do something like this [can't remember why ATM] and that is exactly what I had to do. But there might have been an easier way. Are you concerned about a bandwidth cap or something?
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Maybe there is a way to have a simple Bootable USB command prompt operating system that can execute an EXE?
    You are right, what is the point of all the "overhead" and "bloat" with Windows if you just need to execute a single application?
  10. Kaitain

    Kaitain Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, my bandwidth is uncapped, it just seems somehow inefficient :p

    Oh well, Gandalf it is.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I bet if you could find a Windows 7 DVD somewhere, you can start a setup (without installing anything) and press Shift+F10 for a command prompt.
    Then run the executable off a flash drive to update the UEFI
  12. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Why does everything that's complicated go right over my head?
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Because you forgot your complication goggles.
  14. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Oh! I see now! I thought they were to make the simple complicated. I also though that one had to be deaf to use them and I'm only deaf in one ear...should I use a monical?
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2018
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wouldn't hurt.
    By the way, your signature still shows Mint 17.3 - are you still using that version of Mint?
  16. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I'm working on that! So many things to up date and catch up on. Rest assured I have Silvia 18.3 on my arm as I promenade though this world

    Silvia, the world looks upon her in wild wonder!!":O}
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2018
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    No problem. I'm trying to always update so my guides are current.
    Of course within a month they are no longer "current"
  18. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry, off topic. I miss Kaitain and hope all is well with him and his.
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    yeah, where did Kaitain go?
  20. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Off again to the antipodes iirc. As in China? Middle East? Who knows?

Share This Page