1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Mint at Work

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by booman, Aug 12, 2015.

1. booman

booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

Home page:
    Inherited a Gateway DX4840-11e Desktop at work and decided its time to try Linux in the work environment.
    • Mint 17.2 64-bit
    • Intel Core i3-550 3.2GHz Dual-Core (HT) Processor
    • 8GB DDR3 memory
    • 1TB hard drive
    • GeForce 7600GT
    I work in the Newspaper industry and there are a lot of old systems and proprietary software that works only in Windows. Unfortunately I have to use VirtualBox and install Windows 7 to run any proprietary software.
    But all my internet browsing, remote access to servers works just fine in Linux.

With Mint Cinnamon I can use multiple panels and desktops to manage my VM and internet.
    I have a small list of proprietary software needed to run in Windows:
    • Microsoft Office (mostly Outlook)
    • Goverlan (Remote access/Active Directory)
    • Advertising Software
    • Acrobat Professional/Designer
    • Sybase (SQL ODBC database access)
    • Internet Explorer 11 (Pagination web-based GUI, Java)
    • Circulation GUI (text-based and Java-based)
    Thats about it.
    Since I work in IT, I don't need to use all of these on a daily basis. For the most part I only use Outlook and Goverlan. I'm tempted to try Outlook in PlayOnLinux because I've read that it works pretty good.
    I've tried it on a Mac in PlayOnMac and everything worked but the calendar.

Software I use in Linux for work:
    • GIMP 2.8
    • Chromium
    • Remmina (Remote Desktop & VNC Access)
    • Virtual Box
    • Wine/PlayOnLinux
    • Activity Monitor
    • TextEditor