1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MS's Spectre fix messes up some AMD CPU PC's

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cloasters, Mar 18, 2018.

  1. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
  2. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    They ended up pulling their patch because of that problem. The article actually contains a link at the end pointing to the new patch. This was published back in January, so it's unlikely anyone would be bitten by this now, although it is definitely worth making sure people are aware of it.
  3. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Oh dear, now it's me promoting old news. Apologies!
  4. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    No need to apologize. You acted out of an abundance of caution. :)
    booman likes this.
  5. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,659
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Your doing Great George. Having an abundance of Caution is ever so much better than the abundance of ignorance I have to work from! ":O}
  6. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,875
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thank you Dan, but I'm assuredly a deep pool of ignorance. And so many kinds!

Share This Page