1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Painkiller: Black edition mouse problem.

Discussion in 'Crashed!' started by giffmemana, Dec 28, 2015.

  1. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am experiencing a similar mouse issue with the one I had here: http://www.gamersonlinux.com/forum/threads/ghostbusters-help.1589/ . It's like the game has a really bad mouse acceleration or something and when I turn the mouse its way too fast (sensitivity is on minimum). I barely move the mouse and it flies way more than it should. Or I move the mouse and I try to move it in the opposite direction and it takes a little time before it starts going. The only place I saw this problem mentioned was here - https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=8883&iTestingId=55764 . Do you guys have any ideas on how to fix this ?

    EDIT:
    found this:
    https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=8883&iTestingId=69664
    It says I should install "mouse addon" from winetricks - i believe that means dinput.dll, I installed it, ran the game but still no change. Maybe I needed to do more than installing it, also I don't know if i installed it properly.

    EDIT2:
    I checked dxdiag and in the input tab and in the notes it says that there are errors found in the registry - I checked the file I saw this:
    Code:
            Registry: Errors found
    Key 'HKCR\CLSID\{9F34AF20-6095-11D3-8FB2-00C04F8EC627}\InProcServer32' is missing.
    Key 'HKCR\CLSID\{9F34AF20-6095-11D3-8FB2-00C04F8EC627}\InProcServer32' is missing.
    If needed I'll give the entire dxdiag log. This log and the error up above I got from clicking the "Save all information" button on dxdiag. It told me that the error would be shown in the saved file so I presumed that was it, but if its in another place let me know.

    EDIT3:
    I was thinking that maybe if I disable direct3d and directdraw acceleration the problem would be gone. So I installed dxdiag and now its telling me (when I try to disable them) that I do not have the required admin privelleges.
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2015
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    There is a dinput package available in PlayOnLinux as well.
    I've experienced this problem with several games. An extremely sensitive mouse.
    The best I can recommend is turning the mouse sensitivity almost all the way down in-game or just live with it.
    I've seen this happen in Assassin's Creed games. I just learned to live with it and adjust the way I play
  3. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, I turned it down and it didn't really do much. Also this is an FPS game so it's very important. Tried installing the POL dinput didn't help. Maybe I need to delete the dinput8 one?
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    possible, but not sure if it will help
    You can always try the mouse override option in the Misc Tab in PlayOnLinux Configure
  5. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I tried that, didn't work.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Do you have a special HD mouse?
    Or are you using a standard cheap mouse?
  7. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It's an a4tech x7 xl-750bk - pretty standard I guess.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    You may want to try a cheapo wired Logitech mouse. I've mostly used those and the cheap microsoft mouse and they work GREAT
  9. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm pretty sure its not the mouse. I've used it with other games and it works great. Anyway I wouldn't want to swap my mouse just for this. I've only had problems with these 2 games. Maybe I need to check what they have in common.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Try the dinput package or dinput8
  11. giffmemana

    giffmemana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have both installed.
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    The last thing I can think of is starting over and re-installing the whole game and try a different combination of drivers.
    There is a chance none of them will help

Share This Page