1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting a drive to mount at startup.

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daniel~, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Recently I got tried of hand mounting my music drive every time I re-booted.
    So in the Mint "Disks" app I told it to auto mount.

    Screenshot from 2018-06-11 11-59-52.png

    But when I do it does something with my files I don't understand. It creates a folder that seems to have dups of everything on the drive. can someone tell me what it's doing?
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Hmm, I've never tried this.
    Can you walk me through the steps so I can try it at home?
  3. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Sure it's easy. Locate "Disks" in the main menu and open it, you will see all your connected drives.
    Select the drive you wish to work your magic on. Select the set of gears and select "Edit mount options."

    Then, I know this is counter intuitive you turn off the automatic mount option at the top of the page. Let Mint do the rest. Re-boot and you should see the drive on your desktop. If not return here for further consultation...meaning we'll
    ask Bob and Chris.

    See visual aids below.":O}

    (Oh! when you visit my little photo gallery look at number two before you look at number one, otherwise I will look foolish}

    Attached Files:

  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Nice, that is really cool. So much easier than using the Terminal and editing fstab

    I never use this options because I don't use external drives. I wonder if it would work with Network shares?
    Like auto-mount network share from my server each time I boot up?

    Anyways, so you access your external upon reboot and you see duplicate mounts or duplicate files-n-folders on your external?
    Can you show a screenshot of the duplicates?
  5. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Nope, this is an internal SSD drive. It only contains Music, added protection against losing my music..which can NEVER happen!":O}

    I'm going to explain, then show pictures n the best order I can get them.

    After telling a 90 gig drive to mount at start up, I happened to look to see what it's parent folder looked like. I found two files, The first opens to show the entire contents of my OTHER and new SDD 500 gigs for my back ups and another copy of my music. Entirely different drive, but also mounted like my Music drive

    The second folder is a complete copy of the Music dive, but in a folder

    Personally I'd love an explanation as to what is happing here.

    This last pic shows the entire contents of my 500 gig drive, The first file alone could not fit on my 90 gig drive??? So all these files are linked to anther 500 gig drive which actually contains my backups being shown on my 90 gig drive???

    My 500 showed the same two file types when I mounted it.

    Attached Files:

  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    A Simple primer in the social graces..

  7. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Daniel, I'm really at a loss to understand how you create these situations. ;)
    booman likes this.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,118
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    time to hold hands
  9. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    To Gizmo
    You say that like it's my fault you don't know how I got here...maybe so...

    So are you saying that the situation I'm in is, how you say, abnormal?

    That other mounted drives don't contain the two files my mounted drives do?
    As it's a backup drive I could try deleting them and see what happens, I suspect my drive would no longer auto mount at start up.

    If any can make folly of my words, please do!
  10. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Well, it is and it isn't, you know? It's your fault to the extent that YOU have undertaken an action that has resulted in behavior that I have never seen and don't even know how to start troubleshooting.

    That being said, I've always been of the opinion that properly written software shouldn't let users do stupid things, so that fact that you were even ABLE to get into this situation is NOT your fault. The blame for that rests squarely on the devs, IMO.

    Not that any of that does much good for you at the moment. :(
  11. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Well friends, My drives seem unimpaired by the situation, seems no more than a novelty. I'm fairly sure I've got it right and they have something to do with how Mint keeps track of mounted drives that aren't the main drive.

    Thanks for scratching your heads with me....
    Maybe I should poke it with a stick!

Share This Page