1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turok (GOG) mouse speed issue

Discussion in 'Games' started by batmanm0b1e, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I love this Turok game one of my best games but speed issue acceleration starts to speed up. If anybody can help to fix this please

    Thank you
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    There are a couple of mouse settings that might help.
    I noticed in most games the mouse is way too sensitive. So normally I lower it almost to the least sensitive in-game. This doesn't always work, but most of the time it does.

    I also always use the "Automatically capture the mouse in full-screen windows" option in Wine Configuration.

    [​IMG]
  3. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks booman:) I have it on those settings and the speed automatically starts to go still at random. I'm not so sure if it is the mouse or acceleration of some sort. Sorry i forgot to pout the game in so heres the one i'm playing
    https://www.gog.com/game/turok
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I know that is a REALLY old game, so is there a mouse setting anywhere?

    There isn't much out there... there should be a config.cfg in the game folder. Look through it with Text Editor and maybe there is a mouse sensitivity setting in there?

    Apparently this is an OpenGL game, so you can't install any direct x packages to fix it.
  5. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Did it work?
    I can't believe it uses Direct X 3... thats funny
  7. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yeah the game installed fine. what i was asking what should i have installed
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh, I'm sorry... I didn't fully understand what you were asking.

    Mobygames shows that it is Windows 95 compatible and Direct X 3
    So feel free to go to Wine Configuration and select Windows 95 as the operating system
    Then install PlayOnLinux Packages:
    • DirectX9
    turok.JPG
    This is strange that GOG put specs of OpenGL and Windows 7, 8, 10

    turok.JPG

    Honestly I have the abandonware version of Turok. I could test it in Wine to see if I have a similar mouse problem.
  9. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Cool Thanks Booman. What is the abandonware version
  10. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well i think that worked i played longer and no acceleration. I removed vcrun 2008 vcrun 2010 and framework 40 just installed d3d9. seems like its working windows 95 set


    i will let you know. going to get a cheatcode for infinite live because you only get 3 and game over which stinks
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome!

    I'm glad because any abandoneware version will be vanilla. GOG has a newer version with a new engine. So it should look and play much better.
    batmanm0b1e likes this.

Share This Page