1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ubuntu 64bit 13.10

Discussion in 'Installing Linux' started by ChrisBondWindows, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    While trying to install it I run into this. Any suggestions?

    Attached Files:

  2. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    You created a 32-bit virtual machine in VirtualBox. You have to specify that the VM you create is 64-bit to be able to install a 64-bit OS in VirtualBox
    ChrisBondWindows likes this.
  3. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Aww man, damn autoselect jumped on Ubuntu as soon as I typed the name I want to give to the image. I've changed to Ubuntu 64bit and now its working. Cheers!
  4. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    Be sure to give several distros a try, as you may happen upon one that you just really like. The Major Distros page on Distrowatch give you an overview of the big ones, or you could look at the Page Hit ranking there, which displays almost 300 distros. Probably way more than anyone will ever consider, but it might be interesting to have a look.
  5. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Will do! BTW do you know a way of altering the resolution from 1024x768 to a higher one?
  6. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    In VirtualBox, you can just resize the window when it is running, or click on "view" on the top toolbar, and select fullscreen.
  7. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Try Mint Try Mint Try Mint!!!

    Daerandin, what was that Arch Distro you mentioned previously?
  9. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    Manjaro, it is based on Arch but it is a completely independent distro that keeps its own repositories. It is very easy to use, Kladiator mentioned considering to use it on his main computer after testing it. It does not require a lot of knowledge before use as there are GUI tools for just about everything.

    The only important thing to know about rolling-release distros is that you have to remember to keep your system up to date. You never have to reinstall a new version of the OS, but you need to ideally update once per week so you don't lag too far behind. More frequent updates is just a plus on rolling release (I update daily, sometimes several times per day if there are a lot of updated packages).
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I really like the sound of this but not sure how to get started.
  11. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    Go to Manjaro.org, and download one of the iso images there. They have iso for Xfce, Openbox, KDE and Minimal Net edition, just pick the one you want to use. When you boot with the Live disc, make sure to select non-free drivers when you are presented with the option to start as this will ensure it installs the proprietary nvidia driver during install.
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,628
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, I'm just going to "trial" it for now because my main machine has Mint and I'm very happy with it.
    But if something proves its easier than Mint and more compatible, then I may have to move into my main machine.

Share This Page