1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Resident Evil 5!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Adrians25, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    OK! I installed fresh 32-bit installation from repack and installed a LOT of possible packages on it. Let's see if I can run it! BTW, one of previous problems was that it is fulscreen- anyone knows how to configure video settings without running game?
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Many games have a config (.cfg) file in the game folders where you can manually set the resolution and display options.
    I don't know if Resident Evil does or not, but you could poke around the game folders and look for it.

    I found these tips:
    Just replace the resolution to match your Linux desktop
    Other Display settings are in this file as well.
    You should be able to find this config in your /home folder
    Look for a Capcom folder
  3. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
  4. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
  5. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Um... Steam version has the same bug. I tried installing Steam in POL and than installing RE5, but get the same problem.

    P.S. Thanks Daerandin for gifting me Steam RE5;)
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Then its a Wine/GFWL problem
    You could try that Ubuntu solution from your link
  7. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
  8. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    OK! I have ran it. I found a post about Resident Evil: Revelations where it was said that turning OFF Rendering Threads in config.ini fixes all. Indeed, also here it fixes. However, a lot of flickering. What could be resolvement for this as the game gets almost unplayable?
  9. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Maybe this will be easier to understand for you and maybe you can figure it out:
    After setting the config.ini to this:
    Code:
    [GAME]
    MouseBaseSpeed=2.000000
    [GRAPHICS]
    SLI=OFF
    Stereo=OFF
    HDR=LOW
    MSAA=NONE
    TextureFilter=ANISOTROPIC16X
    TextureDetail=LOW
    MotionBlur=OFF
    NormalMapping=ON
    NormalUpdate=ON
    Specular=ON
    Lighting=LOW
    FilterQuality=LOW
    WaterQuality=LOW
    EffectQuality=LOW
    EffectVolume=LOW
    ShadowQuality=LOW
    LOD=HIGH
    Joint=HIGH
    Adhesion=HIGH
    MotionBlurQuality=NONE
    [DISPLAY]
    Resolution=1280x720
    RefreshRate=60Hz
    FullScreen=OFF
    VSYNC=OFF
    AdjustAspect=OFF
    FrameRate=VARIABLE
    [SOUNDS]
    SeVoiceNum=128
    ReverbQuality=LOW
    CategoryEQ=ON
    [CPU]
    JobThread=3
    RenderingThread=OFF
    [JOYPAD]
    A=2
    B=1
    X=3
    Y=0
    LEFT=15
    RIGHT=13
    UP=12
    DOWN=14
    START=9
    BACK=8
    LT=4
    LB=6
    RT=5
    RB=7
    LSTICK_PUSH=10
    LSTICK_VERT=Y
    LSTICK_HORZ=X
    RSTICK_PUSH=11
    RSTICK_VERT=Z
    RSTICK_HORZ=RZ
    
    and setting Wine to 1.7.41 or newer(1.7.42-staging...) I made the game run. It works fully, I tested it, but only in Windowed mode(could be GPU fault), but... A very huge problem. I can't play the game. Every time when it is NOT playing a video using WMP, I get a werid flickering where it is like distorted out of the position, like HUDs and in game elements would try to fly out of screen or parts of image rotate aswell, especially in menu, I see a lot of letters(mostly asian) aswell as some numbers of screen. Werid, right. However, it only happens in Resident Evil 5 window.

    I am using a Steam installed in POL and running legal RE5.
  10. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Hello! Where's everyone?
  11. Daerandin

    Daerandin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    People are here frequently, the lack of replies probably just means that nobody have any help to offer at the moment. When it comes to certain games in Wine, it takes patience as the solution may be difficult.
  12. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Yeah, could be like that. What you've got now?
  13. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    In my case works (windowed back to solve problem equal to ultra street fighter IV), i play around 40min without issues, however more later upload video maybe stay around in 5 to 6 hours

    :)
  14. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Um... Werid, why it doesn't work for me? Maybe you could make a full installation video? Make sure you use exactly Steam version- Residetn evil 5 gold edition
  15. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Code:
    [GAME]
    MouseBaseSpeed=2.000000
    [GRAPHICS]
    SLI=OFF
    Stereo=OFF
    HDR=LOW
    MSAA=NONE
    TextureFilter=OFF
    TextureDetail=LOW
    MotionBlur=OFF
    NormalMapping=ON
    NormalUpdate=OFF
    Specular=OFF
    Lighting=MEDIUM
    FilterQuality=LOW
    WaterQuality=LOW
    EffectQuality=LOW
    EffectVolume=MEDIUM
    ShadowQuality=LOW
    LOD=MIDDLE
    Joint=LOW
    Adhesion=HIGH
    [DISPLAY]
    Resolution=634x332
    RefreshRate=60Hz
    FullScreen=OFF
    VSYNC=OFF
    AdjustAspect=OFF
    FrameRate=30
    [SOUNDS]
    SeVoiceNum=128
    ReverbQuality=LOW
    CategoryEQ=ON
    [CPU]
    JobThread=4
    RenderingThread=OFF
    [JOYPAD]
    A=2
    B=1
    X=3
    Y=0
    LEFT=15
    RIGHT=13
    UP=12
    DOWN=14
    START=9
    BACK=8
    LT=4
    LB=6
    RT=5
    RB=7
    LSTICK_PUSH=10
    LSTICK_VERT=Y
    LSTICK_HORZ=X
    RSTICK_PUSH=11
    RSTICK_VERT=Z
    RSTICK_HORZ=RZ
    
    Fix config.ini
    Works for me:
    Steam install in POL, Wine 1.7.42-staging. Doesn't work in fulscreen for me(may be GPU fault). Thanks everyone for help.
    Last thing I need help with is how to reset my progress and start a new games: Please help!
  16. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    I've seen flickering in many games, sometimes installing the right d3dx will fix the problem or make it worse.
    What kind of flickering are you seeing exactly? Ground textures, shadows, animation, etc?

    Since you are using the newer versions of Wine, that probably isn't the problem. You can also try messing with the PlayOnLinux display settings in Configure.
    Under the Display tab you can disable GLSL
    Sometimes that makes improvements on graphics and shaders
  17. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Well, I fixed it, but the flickering affected everything. It was more like a destroying screen, everything sharded. However, fix came here!
  18. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    As commented before this is my resident evil 5 gold gameplay



    :)
  19. Adrians25

    Adrians25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Home page:
    Yeah, it runs for me similarry now, of course, because I have 2 grades lower GPU, it runs on worse FPS, alothugh my quadcore more Hz processor helps out a bit:D However, if I'd get a PS4 or PS3 or(the best) PC controller, it'd be much better to play this game with it. Is it possible to do it on Linux Ubuntu without any complicated setup?
  20. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Maybe its time to get a new video card.
    My GeForce 550 Ti rocks and its been almost 3 years since I got it.
    You might want to look into a GeForce 750 Ti
    I've heard they are really good and do not require extra power
    mrdeathjr28 likes this.

Share This Page