1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sid Meires Civilization: Beyond Earth - tomorrow!

Discussion in 'Games' started by steve723, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
  2. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I got my Steam key from Aspyr a little while ago. I could probably install the Windows version now but I'll wait a few hours for the Linux port to activate. Better Hurry if you need to pre order before 10 a.m. PST or you will miss out on the savings. The extra stuff will probably be in a DLC if you miss the pre order. Why pay extra though when you can get it for free plus 25% off for the game.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I still don't understand how Steam knows if you are purchasing and/or playing in Linux or window$
    • Purchasing game in LinSteam
    • Downloading game in LinSteam
    • Purchasing game in WinSteam
    • Downloading game in WinSteam
    • Purchase game in Windows browser on steampowered.com
    • Purchase game in Linux browser on steampowered.com
    Sometimes I purchase the game in Chrome on Windows because I was at work, but does that count as a Windows purchase or Linux?
    I'm guessing the former.
    This is an on-going question I have read just about everywhere.
    People say "Support Linux by buying games for Linux" but exactly how do you do that?

    There is no way for me to be in Linux all the time because my Work requires Windows.
    Maybe I'll have to take my Chromebook (ChrUbuntu) to work when I purchase a game?
  4. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Depends on which client you use. I bought BE through GameAgent so it doesn’t matter. That means I bought it directly from the devs. BTW its downloading now. I guess they decided to let us pre load. Nice since its 8 GBs.
  5. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It now shows as enabled for Linux in Steam Store. 11 minutes left to download.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Nice!
    I've checked out GameAgent before.
    I'll have to check them again.
    Its nice that Developers can sell games without loosing profit from Steam/Origin/Uplay
  7. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It works! :) Of course it works since Aspyr made it. They are one of the companies that are leading the industry in gaming on alternative OS’s. Two at the moment Mac and Linux. Valve/Steam is only a client for running games and provides DRM. At least Steam doesn’t get completely ridiculous with overboard DRM like Origin does. :rolleyes:
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome! Score for Linux!!!

    Well, there are a few stubborn games (Assassin's Creed series) that require Uplay even if you download and launch it from Steam. So frustrating!
  9. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Unfortunately Print screen doesn’t seem to work with this game or I would post some pictures.
  10. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't like how you have to use Uplay for some games even though you already launch them from Steam anyway. Uplay doesn’t like Linux and even under wine Uplay is bad. Probably another badly implemented DRM platform like Origin.
  11. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Other than some sound issues they port works great. Lots of people are having sound issues, so I bet Aspyr will be all over that one. Mods seem to work to. I don't know if you can create mods in Linux or you have to use Windows. Civ5 mod buddy used Micro$oft stuff so it only worked in Windoze. Might be the same here.
  12. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    According to the forums, many people are having big trouble figuring out a good strategy for keeping health in the green early on. Me to! :eek:
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    yup, I've had the same problem with native Linux games.
    I had to install scrot.sh and it takes screenshots in intervals, then saved them to my Pictures folder.
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Actually the recent 1.7.32 and newer versions finally fixed the crypt32 problems. so now Uplay works great. At least launching games works. I haven't actually downloaded an entire game, but I've played Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood and Revelations through PlayOnLinux and they run great!
    I'm still playing Revelations even now
  15. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    steve7233@steve7233-EP45-UD3P:~$ sudo apt-get install scrot.sh
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Unable to locate package scrot.sh
    E: Couldn't find any package by regex 'scrot.sh'
    steve7233@steve7233-EP45-UD3P:~$
  16. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    :oops::rolleyes:. Now I just have to figure out how to use it.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    1. Double-click scrot.sh
    2. Click Run In Terminal
    3. Minimize
    If its setup correctly, all screenshots will be in your Pictures folder. Otherwise, they go to your /home folder by default.
    It will just take screenshots in 5 second increments and save them for you.
    It won't stop taking screenshots until you close the Terminal running it

Share This Page