1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOMA

Discussion in 'Games' started by Daerandin, Sep 22, 2015.

1. Daerandin

Daerandin Well-Known Member

Home page:
    http://www.gog.com/game/soma

This game was released today. It is made by the same developer who made the Penumbra games and Amnesia. I just started playing it, the native Linux version works great, like all their previous games. I have not played much yet, but I already had to take a break because it was becoming a bit too intense. It's been a while since the last time I played a horror game.

I did have a little problem getting the game starting at first, which was related to dbus. Arch Linux use a much newer dbus version than the majority of other distros, and as such the game would not run because of incompatibility. The workaround is quite simple thankfully, but it requires that you have Steam installed.

Navigate to: ~/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime/amd64/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/

Then copy the two files:
    libdbus-1.so.3
    libdbus-1.so.3.5.8

Copy these files into the SOMA "game" directory. The game should now run without problem.

This problem is probably only present on Arch Linux, any distributions that use the Arch repos, or any other distros that always use the latest software versions.
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  2. booman

booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

Home page:
    You didn't buy the GOG version?

Thanks for posting the work-around... could you also create a link to these libraries?
  3. Daerandin

Home page:
    Yes I bought the GOG version. All Linux games you run from Steam will use the Steam runtime, so this is only a problem if you purchased the game on GOG. The Witcher 2 have the same problem, I don't remember the specific library, but there was one library that the game required a specific version of, which I had to copy from the Steam runtime.