1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The sims 3 installed via Origin, crash during login.

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by steve723, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I get lots of sound stuttering when trying to login. Then the sounds cuts out. Then... Crash! How do I switch the wine prefix to ALSA instead of PULSE audio?
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    That is one thing I've never had to do. I've looked into it several times and havn't figured it out.
    From what I have read, I think its a command line thing.
    If you launch Wine Configuration, under audio there is only switching audio devices.
    Nothing for Alsa or Pulse.
  3. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed the full direct x instead of just the runtime. Now the crashing and stuttering seem to have stopped most of the time. The game still crashes if I attempt to login while in game for any reason. If I play play it with no online stuff then it doesn’t seem to crash any more. The launch can log in though. Since the game can't log in then I can't download any content for the game unless I buy a new stuff or EP pack that has it since Origin works.
  4. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    launch = launcher.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Cool, looks like DirectX fixed the audio problems...
    Loging is obviously a problem because without it, the game is useless.
    I'll check WineHQs and see if anyone has a similar problem
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Looks like you need to install dotnet20 to fix the launcher. This means you can't use any Wine 1.5 version or newer because it dotnet will conflict with Mono.
    Apparently Mono isn't handling the launcher correctly.
    So I recommend using Wine 1.4.1 and installing dotnet20.
    See if that fixes the launcher/login problems

    Apparently this is all through Steam, so I don't know if Origin will have similar problems or completely new ones?
  7. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I can still do most things without being on line its not like Simcity 2013. The Sims is still mostly designed to be played off line but has some slight on line ability's but I would like to at least down load some things now and then. I guess I could use cough cough windows to get the stuff and then copy the files.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh cool, I didn't realize that. Guess its not "useless" after all.
    Ok, then when you have time... try applying Wine 1.4.1 and dotnet20 to see if Launcher works.
    Don't forget to backup your gamefiles first. Just in case it breaks something in the virtual drive
  9. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    FYI: EA/Maxis says that The sims 4 will have an online presence similar to The Sims 3. Nothing like Simcity 2013.

    I was worried that they might piss us off again like with Simcity.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ah, were you one of the unfortunate gamers who got "screwed" with EA's servers?
  11. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I already have dotnet20 and I tried several versions of wine. Since wine 1.5.28-Origin is the only one that works with Origin then no other version can be used unless POL makes another modified wine version.
  12. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Unfortunately yes!! :mad::mad::mad: EA/Maxis.
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    That really sucks.
    Anyways, can we consider Sims 3 a success even though launcher and logging in doesn't work?
  14. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think show but also that getting it to run fully via wine still needs a bit of work but it is very playable as is but a little more would make it an even better experience. Hopefully on March 25, 2014 we can get The Sims 4 to work.
  15. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Maybe the games is temporally messed up do to all the web sites being merged into just thesims.com no more separate sites for The Sims 3 and The sims 4 and The Sims Medieval.
  16. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Depends on if the game hosting servers are also their web hosting servers.
    I would suspect they would be separate, you don't want someone hacking your web server and getting information from the game server too.
  17. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That would make sense but, you realize we are dealing with Electronic Arts? (Simcity 2013). I don't know whom is the bigger idiot EA or The USA government. :D
  18. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yeah, I don't know much about EA anymore. I've been messing with Steam for years and it wasn't until recently that EA came back into the picture with their "Origin" client. Just copying Steam I would say...
  19. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I was right. I just had to wait until EA finished whatever they were doing to consolidate all their web sites. Now the game logs in like it is supposed to.
  20. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wow, great prediction... Glad it worked out for ya.

Share This Page