1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gaming in Linux Taught Me More About Windows

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by booman, Nov 17, 2015.

?

Do you play more games with:

1. Native

40.0%
  2. WINE Alone

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. PlayOnLinux

60.0%
  4. Crossover

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Pipelight

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Other

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. booman

booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

Home page:
    I have been testing PC games in Linux for over 3 years now. Each week I post a new step-by-step guide on how to install, configure and optimize the PC game in Linux. There are even a few native guides as well:

List of Tested Games in Linux

Some games have ran perfectly on the first try, others require some extra libraries, some need patched versions of Wine and very few do not run at all. Testing games requires a lot of patience and repetition. Those troublesome games need to be installed 5 or 6 times in order to trial-n-error and get different results. The process can be quite frustrating, but in the long run no one else has to spend those hours testing. Just follow the guide and play your game.

As a result, I've really learned a lot about Windows and Linux equally

With PlayOnLinux you can utilize Wine with an easy-to-use Graphical User Interface.
    Wine can select different versions of Windows:
    • Windows 2.0
    • Windows 3.0
    • Windows 3.1
    • Windows NT 3.51
    • Windows NT 4.0
    • Windows 95
    • Windows 98
    • Windows ME
    • Windows 2000
    • Windows XP
    • Windows 2003
    • Windows Vista
    • Windows 2008
    • Windows 7
    • Windows 2008 R2
    • Windows 8
    • Windows 8.1
    • Windows 10
    It is really amazing how Wine is compatible with so many versions of Windows. I've read many times that Wine is more backwards compatible with programs than Windows is.