1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP, NOW, before I do something rash!! Out of disk space message!!

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daniel~, Feb 22, 2018.

  1. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    I'm in the same boat. I don't run an EFI system, I don't know enough about what SHOULD be there to know what SHOULDN'T be there.
  2. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I do run an EFI system and haven't seen that before.
    D~ what's the output of

    ls -al /boot/EFI/2017-06-03-02-img

    ?
  3. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    Is it possible that is some kind of EFI BIOS backup? Maybe Daniel remembers backing up his configuration. If so, we can move it elsewhere, if the EFI bios restore app can look in another location.

    Dan, do you remember ever doing a bios backup? Did you have a choice where to save it?
  4. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Yes that would be one, actually my only back up. I have it on my T2 USB drive. How could it get in ELF?

    But they are not the same backup are they! TR you know clonzillia, could I have screwed up and told to CZ to put a back up there?

    Attached Files:

  5. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Screenshot from 2018-02-26 14-31-38.png
  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I can say unequivocally I've never backed up a bios. My Asus Z77 allows me to back up bios settings and I routinely back up my whole system. I usually keep several back-ops on hand. But the motherboard saves those settings...I think? LOL

    Guys..I'm up for a bit of experimentation. I can start from scratch and Like K. be whole again in three days. functional in 4 hours. So if we want to try something, lets do.

    I can be pretty anal about error messages and can tell you that left to myself I have totally dumped and started over because of far far less.":O}


    I can back up this current set up if we want to loose.":O}
    so don't hesitate if we want to try something, we can do no harm.":O}
  7. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    OK, I know what that is now. It must be a Clonezilla backup; it follows the default format for how Clonezilla keeps a backup image. For Pete's sake, don't start reinstalling, there is nothing broken here.

    Daniel~, just move that directory to another place - any other place will do, just get it out of anything under /boot where you can find it if you need it. Your /home/Daniel/<name_here> directory is a good place. You'll have to do it as root. How you managed to save it in that particular location is beyond me, lolz...

    It's 8 months old anyhow; you should really make another one after this is straightened out.

    EDIT: Daniel, just delete it. The backup image you have in the other location is more recent, so this one is obsolete:

    Code:
    sudo rm -R /boot/EFI/2017-06-03-02-img
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2018
  8. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What system are you running? I like that look i want it if you can tell me :)
  9. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
  10. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I did a backup of my current install, not a restore, a backup. Using CZ. When I reached desktop no message.
    rebooted 5 times. no message. Opened Mint software manager and did several refreshes, no message.

    So I was pretty much thinking that some how CZ knew we were coming and covered it's tracks.

    But seriously, what could have removed it??

    Attached Files:

  11. batmanm0b1e

    batmanm0b1e Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Which desktop environment is it?
  12. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Oops, teach me to read properly.

    mv /boot/efi/2017-06-03-02-img /root/.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2018
  13. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    Ahh, that's it. Daniel, it's '/boot/efi' not '/boot/EFI'.

    You can remove the *-img or move it as Kaitain said.
  14. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    My bad Batman. You want Cinnamon. You want 64 bit. You want to download here
  15. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    You guys are not going to like this, I know I feel indescribably unsatisfied!":O}

    Screenshot from 2018-02-27 11-33-06.png
  16. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I still have not received the "Message" since I did my back up yesterday

    TR. I alway put my back up in the TOP directory as CL use to require this. I really don't think I messed this up. Have done many back ups since you turned me on to CZ.
    Just an observation.
  17. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    I believe you, but am confused as to how a backup image got in there. I'm even more confused as to where it went. Making a new backup could not have done anything.

    Sigh. Let's make sure.

    Code:
    du /boot
    Code:
    du /boot/efi
  18. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Making sure:

    Screenshot from 2018-02-27 16-40-23.png
  19. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    I'll be damned if I know what happened to it, but you're OK now, afaict.

    Do you have mlocate installed? It's very handy when you are looking for something. Try this:

    Code:
    apt-get install mlocate
    Then, as root:

    Code:
    updatedb
    This might take a little time while it creates the database

    And finally:

    Code:
    locate *-img
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2018
  20. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,994
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Seems it may have been installed...but I don't think we got what was wanted....did we? LOL


    Screenshot from 2018-02-27 20-47-40.png

Share This Page