1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install Linux

Discussion in 'Installing Linux' started by ChristopherValenti12, Jul 27, 2018.

  1. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Get a good sleep.":O}

    Attached Files:

  2. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Can you also run

    ls /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

    If there's not already a file called 20-nvidia.conf in there, then download the attached, and:

    tar -xzf 20-nvidia.conf.tar.gz
    sudo cp 20-nvidia.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/.

    At that point, in theory, you should be able to put your cables back computer to AVR, AVR to TV and reboot, and it should work. Or might not. Anyway... let me know.

    Attached Files:

  3. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Get some rest I'm in good shape until the morrow. I downloaded the file first

    Attached Files:

  4. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    OK, also download the file from post #162 and follow the instructions to extract and copy that file:

    ls /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

    If there's not already a file called 20-nvidia.conf in there, then download the attached, and:

    tar -xzf 20-nvidia.conf.tar.gz
    sudo cp 20-nvidia.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/.

    If there IS already a file called /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf then

    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf

    and paste the output.

    Also:

    sudo cp /home/daniel/Hisence\ Bin/edid.bin /etc/X11/.

    We might need it later.
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2019
  5. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thank you very much Kaitain! You really work to help we less than masterful with Linux folks!!
  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I followed what I thought you wanted but am not getting the results expected. I offer these to show what I have done and the response.

    To be honest I'm a bit lost here.

    Attached Files:

  7. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    In the meantime...

    I switched HDMI 1 to my roku last night. All my troubles with UHD went away. So it's definitely the receiver in the loop that prevents proper recondition of the 2.2 cable standard. With the receiver in the loop Roku fails every thing above 1080. It then lets me force it, but that only gives me 1080

    Is why I was asking about the lip sync problem when using the hisence as switcher.
  8. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm not going to be too much use tonight, shattered and taking an early night. Can I see

    ls /etc/X11
  9. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Not to worry K. You've been more than generous with you time.

    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$ ls /etc/X11
    4096x2160.bin rgb.txt Xreset Xsession.options
    app-defaults xinit Xreset.d xsm
    default-display-manager xkb Xresources XvMCConfig
    edid.bin xorg.conf Xsession Xwrapper.config
    fonts xorg.conf.backup Xsession.d
    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$
  10. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ok, let me see

    cat /etc/xorg.conf

    We're on the home straight, as soon as I work out where your X settings are hidden
  11. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$ cat /etc/xorg.conf
    cat: /etc/xorg.conf: No such file or directory
    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$
  12. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Perhaps in sleep it will come to you.":O}
  13. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Sorry,

    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
  14. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    No problem, we kept you up past your bedtime.":O|

    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings: version 418.56


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "HISENSE"
    HorizSync 15.0 - 136.0
    VertRefresh 24.0 - 75.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 670"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"

    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "3840x2160_30 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160_30 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160_30 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "3840x2160 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "3840x2160_30 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160_30 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "4096x2160 +0+0"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "Stereo" "0"
    Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
    Option "metamodes" "4096x2160_60 +0+0"
    Option "SLI" "Off"
    Option "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$
  15. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    What time are you most available for this...I think we may have missed each other this go around?
    Now 10 15 my time, it's dark out so I'm guessing night time.
  16. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    OK, next:

    Download the attached file to /home/daniel/Downloads/.
    tar -xzf xorg.conf.tar.gz

    sudo su
    cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.20190724.backup
    cp /home/daniel/Downloads/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    At this point, you should be able to reboot and confirm that you still get a screen - you should do, as you're just using the HiSense EDID as read by your gfx card anyway. If you still get a screen and it's still 4096x2160 @ 60Hz then go ahead and put your wiring back through your AVR:

    Computer to AVR port 5 (game). AVR HDMI Out to TV HDMI-1

    Then reboot again and let me know what your results are.

    Attached Files:

  17. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Where did I go wrong?

    daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo su
    [sudo] password for daniel:
    Sorry, try again.
    [sudo] password for daniel:
    root@daniel-System-Product-Name:/home/daniel# cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.20190724.backup
    root@daniel-System-Product-Name:/home/daniel# cp /home/daniel/Downloads/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    cp: cannot stat '/home/daniel/Downloads/xorg.conf': No such file or directory
    root@daniel-System-Product-Name:/home/daniel#
    root@daniel-System-Product-Name:/home/daniel#

    I have ended up with several copies, do I need them, does mint need them thinned?
  18. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    ok I have gotten a good reboot, everything looks good., putting reciver back into the loop.
  19. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Receiver back in the loop.

    Everything went to shit my friend. Computer boots to a green screen. I'm use to that occasionally, but it's not straightening out by the time it reaches my computer screen, now it stays green. REz back to 1920X1080

    Roku has gone back to failing everything above 1080, I have to force it again.it says it fails to pass 2.2, yet it does pass when only the Roku is connected.

    All this goes away when using the TV as the switcher. BUT when using the TV I could not get sound to sync

    I'm just looking for the easiest way to go. entirerly up to you K.
    You have to do thre brain work here ":O}
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  20. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    PS still no sound. I'm beginning to think this is not a match made in heaven":O}
    PS I'm certain I choose binary for the EDID, but can't check as it's now Denon rather than Hi sense.
    As switching inputs returns the Green, it 's probably not the loose input plug.
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019

Share This Page