1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IT is freaking complicated

Discussion in 'Random Nonsense' started by booman, Nov 22, 2017.

1. booman

booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

Home page:
    I've been working in IT for only 6 years and have been tinkering with computers as a hobbyist for about 15 years. After doing IT at 4 different companies I've noticed...

EVERYTHING IS EXTREMELY COMPLICATED!

Most users and gamers just have one computer at work and one computer at home. Then they have a smartphone and maybe a console. Those alone can be complicated with many elements:
    • Accounts
    • Installations
    • Setup
    • Configurations
    • Security Settings
    • Updates/Patches
    • Backup/Restore
    • Drivers/Firmware
    • Connectivity
    Now imagine working in a company where you have 50-1000 people with:
    • Desktops - PC/Mac/Linux
    • Laptops - PC/Mac/Linux
    • Printers
    • Phones Desk/Cell
    • Internal Servers - Win, Mac, Linux
    • Web Server - Win, Mac, Linux
    • Hosting Services, VM's
    • Networking/Firewall
    • Security - Software, Updates, Server
    • Accounts - Local/Web
    • Shares, Permissions, Groups
    • VPN Connections
    • Applications - Internal, External
    • Licenses
    • A/V - Conferencing
    • Screen-sharing - Skype, GoToMeeting, WebEx, Logmein
    • and much, much, much more...
    Now combine the two and calculate how many items you have to support on any given day...
    WOW! Just Wow!

Interacting, configuring and troubleshooting all of these elements has become extremely complicated.
    There are so many services that sync together like Active Directory and Office 365. I rarely see a system that is simple because each one is setup in a way that it will work for any industry with any different need. Specially phone systems.