1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lord Of The Rings Online installation

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by Kowalsky, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Lord Of The Rings Online (LOTRO) it's a f2p MMORPG released in 2007 based on the R.R. Tolkien's novel

    mint 17 64bit
    PlayOnLinux 4.2.2
    Video Card Nvidia GTX 650 OEM

    1 Download wine 1.7.8 through PlayOnLinux
    2 Download Steam windows version
    3 Launch PlayOnLinux
    4 Click "install"
    5 Click "install a non-listed program"
    6 Check "install a new virtual drive"
    7 Name your virtual drive "LOTRO"
    8 Check all option
    9 Select "wine 1.7.8"
    10 Select "32 bit windows installation"
    11 In Application Tab select "windows7"
    12 In Graphics Tab select "Check capture mouse" & "Virtual descktop"
    13 Set descktop size "your monitor resolution"
    14 Check these packages: POL_install_corefont
    POL_install_d3dx9
    POL_install_d3dx10
    POL_install_thaoma
    POL_install_vcrn2008
    POL_install_xact
    15 Click "Browser" & check for "SteamSetup.exe"
    16 Close the Steam Login window
    17 PlayOnLinux shortcut: select Steam.exe & Name it "LOTRO steam"
    18 Click "i dont want to make another shortcut"
    19 Click "LOTRO steam" & select "Configure"
    20 In General>Argument insert "-no-dwrite"
    21 In Display>Direct Draw Render select "opengl"
    >Video Memory Size select "your memory size videocard"
    >Offscren Rendering Mode select "fbo"
    22 Launch Steam & log in
    23 Go to Steam setup and deselect "Enable Steam comunity in game"
    24 Go to Shop and look for "Lord Of The Rings Online" & install it (Take me around 11 hours)

    Some times the client crash before the log in (like neverwinter online) don't worry just try again

    What does not works:
    1 The ingame browser
    2 Headphones
  2. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Download the latest WINE provided by PlayOnLinux, check if it's still the same behavior.

    Also, I'm guessing you are using PulseAudio?
  3. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes i'm using pulseaudio.

    will try with wine 1.7.36 in the next days.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Thanks for providing so much information!
    One thing you can do is launch Lord Of The Rings Online with "Debug" instead of "Run"
    This way you can see all the errors or bugs.
    Copy the entire debug and past it here so we can take a look at it. Maybe there is something in there to give us a clue why its crashing.

    The cool thing about Steam, is you won't need to download LotRO again.
    If you need to install Steam again and setup another Virtual Drive, just copy the game folder to your desktop first.
    Game folders:
    /home/username/.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/lotronline/Program Files/Steam/SteamApps/common/

    Once you copy the game folder from here, you can just copy it back in another virtual drive.

    Note: The "wineprefix" is the virtual drive name you created with doing the manual installation.
  5. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    My pleasure, find this site so helpful and i would make my part according with my limited capacity.
    About the game, with wine 1.7.36 didn't had crash anymore at the moment and also ingame browser now works well,
    so seems everythings works properly.
    About headphones i have problems only with the wireless one's,tryed to change wine audio setup but was'nt able to fix it yet.
    i'll post more in case of other issues
    P.S. sorry for my english
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Is audio working at all in Mint 17?
    Try going to System Settings and audio
    If you are using analog audio, make sure its selected for output.
    If you can hear sounds in Mint and internet, then it has to be something with the game.
    Wine has a long history of problems with Pulseaudio, but for the most part, it works fine.
    Maybe the game needs another library?
    • xaudio
    • directmusic
    You can actually go to the game folder in SteamApps/common and look for a vdf script.
    This script is what determines which libraries are installed before the game runs.
    Maybe it has something about audio...
  7. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I've been wondering, is it like pulseaudio doesn't output the sound to your headphones? Does it work on normal speakers?
  8. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    It's a wireless headphone issue, did'nt had any audio problem like this, both with under POL or linux released games.
    cable headphones and speakers works and microphon also. Today i noticed that works at start of the game but not after character window, at that point it swich to speakers
    Found this under: PlayOnLinux's virtual drives>LOTRO>Programs>Steam>music>_database
    Code:
    [box]{""
    {
        "userfile"        "user_rules.vdf"
        "albumprefix"
        {
            "0"
            {
                "value"        "The "
            }
            "1"
            {
                "value"        "A "
            }
            "2"
            {
                "value"        "An "
            }
        }
        "albumprefixexception"
        {
            "0"
            {
                "value"        "The The"
            }
        }
        "artistprefix"
        {
            "0"
            {
                "value"        "The "
            }
            "1"
            {
                "value"        "A "
            }
            "2"
            {
                "value"        "An "
            }
        }
        "artistprefixexception"
        {
            "0"
            {
                "value"        "The Artist Formerly Known As Prince"
            }
        }
    }}[box]
  9. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Ops what a mess!! Anyway did you talk about that? Think no but did'n found any vdf scripts in steamapp
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wrong vdf
    Try looking in your LOTRO virtual drive and Steam/SteamApps/Common/LOTRO
    There might be a "redist" folder or "support" folder with the script
  11. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    No i'm looking everywhere in LOTRO virtual drive and did'nt find nothing with vdf in the name, so i had a look on every games under POL and found installscript.vdc only in the games without client
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, well normally its in the main game folder, but not always.
    Thats ok, it was worth a try.
    There is some good "gold" and "platinum" test results on WineHQs
    It appears to run without any extra libraries at all

    So your sound IS working as long as you use speakers instead of headphones correct?

    Its Free-To-Play, so i can always check it out myself.
    Our systems are similar, but it really depends on the motherboard.
    What motherboard are you using?
  13. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Hey @Kowalsky:

    Alright well, it sounds more like a PulseAudio issue than WINE itself. However let's not go empty handed. Do you know how to use virtual desktops? If you are running fullscreen you can switch to different virtual desktops.


    First, go get pavucontrol most distributions provide it as a separate package. It's a mixer for pulseaudio, you can also control the output stream through command line but that's dirty business, imho. Too convoluted.

    Once you get pavucontrol you'll get something like this:

    Let's be sure that once you lose audio it's actually assigned to the right output device.

    [​IMG]

    Just a note of caution: I've had bad experiences with the pulseaudio provided by Linux Mint/Debian. Distributions like Arch Linux, OpenSUSE (Tumbleweed) provides a pulseaudio that doesn't even have underruns problems.

    Anyway, try switching audio with pavucontrol. The playback will appear as "alsa plug-in" etc etc.
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    i had problems back in Mint 14 and Mint 16, but everything is going really well now with Mint 17
    Pulseaudio rocks, i just with Wine would start supporting it
  15. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi guys
    Thank you for the help!
    Asus P8H77-V LE
    Allenskd here a immage of default mint17 audio control
    [​IMG]
    Ok, installed pavucontrol and lauched the game
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    still headphones does'nt work so i removed pavucontrol but now i have the same issue with speakers and headphones does'nt work at all lol. i had tryed all the possible combination but nothing.
    [​IMG]
    Speakers and headphones still works out of the game, did'nt tryed with others games yet
  16. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    With Pavucontrol you can control the flow of where the audio goes to. In this case an Output Device. If it "doesn't work" it's highly likely you left the ALSA-Plug-in of wine-preloader not assigned to your speakers.

    As for wireless not working, I'm out of ideas. Sorry. I really need to have a similar product to test it out. I don't know if it's WINE or PulseAudio in this case. You might want to try WINEHQ official forums.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yeah, I didn't realize there was another output driver for the wireless headphones.
    I have a feeling those headphones are not supported by Linux yet.
  18. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Mmmh, but work with everything like music, team speak, all the others games. Tryed it with Neverwinter and did'nt had the same issue, start to think, maybe, something goes wrong with the main installation so i'm now reinstalling the game to see wath happens.
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh, didn't know that.
    Yeah try re-installing Steam in a New virtual drive.
    Don't forget my tip on copying the LOTRO game files so you don't have to download the entire game again
  20. Kowalsky

    Kowalsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Yeah finally fix up!!
    After reinstallation been back to the first step of this thread but this time ingame audio settings works (not in the properly way but does it matter)

    [​IMG]

    so the wireless headphons now works, does'nt matter wich output i chose in the mint audio controller

    [​IMG]

    Thank you all for help to figured out this issue
    booman likes this.

Share This Page