1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My btrfs subvolume setup

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daerandin, Mar 17, 2021.

1. Daerandin

Daerandin Well-Known Member

Home page:
    I've been using btrfs for a few years now, although I have not been making extensive use of the subvolume snapshot feature yet. Mostly I have had system root on one subvolume, and /home on another subvolume.

If you are unfamiliar with what subvolumes are, you can think of them as hard drive partitions. They are not exactly partitions, but you mount them as partitions. They do share the same hard drive space, but are separate when mounted individually.

However, a recent issue with a couple of package upgrades on Arch pushed me into setting up a bit more complicated setup with snapshots. The update issue I had turned out to not be that complicated, but just to ensure that I always have the ability to boot into a fully functional system to troubleshoot, I went ahead with this. First my subvolume setup:

/ - The root directory obviously needs to be a subvolume

/home - home is kept separate on its own subvolume

/var - mostly kept separate so that logs are consistent, and not different between my snapshots, this is also true for the package database

/var/lib/pacman - This is required specifically for Arch's package manager

Then I snapshot the root partition (/) and /var/lib/pacman, I also keep the kernel and initramfs that coincides with the version of the snapshot. I then have a separate boot entry which utilizes the snapshots instead of the main subvolumes. So if I boot up with the snapshots, my system will be at the state it was in when I took the snapshots. But all my files in /home are unaffected, meaning I would not lose progress in games.