1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New desktop after a few years of pause

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ChrisBondWindows, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have installed windows7 to test out the system and find out if anything is wrong with it. Currently I am running the 6300 @ 4,4 Ghz with a very nice Arctic Freezer A30 cooler. The case arrived today and it took about two hours to finish with the cable management and the rest. The zalman Z9 plus came with 3 120mm blue transparent coolers (front to HDD, side to GFX card and Top to CPU), another 120mm white reflecting blue in the back to outside. Quite something if you ask me! I placed the thermal sensor on the southbridge. Three of the coolers are manually controlled from the front of the case. I am using futuremark tests to see how the PC is behaving and no errors so far. After I am pleased with the results will install VM and then play with linux and windows server. Will report back.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Pics Pics Pics
  3. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I had to back down to 4.2 Ghz and haven't tested yet 4.3. Forgot the temp window on the first one but in full load the CPU was not going above 46 C. I was running 3x Heaven Bench and Torture Test - Prime 64bit with six workers

    Attached Files:

  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Dude pics! I want to see the guts!
  5. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    You've seen it here first!

    PS Will upload more pics when I have a bit of time Boo.

    Attached Files:

  6. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Not much to see, pretty clean but the massive Arctic takes all the space hahaha

    Attached Files:

  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yeah!!! Love that cooler!
    Video card seems a bit tiny, maybe its the angle
    Most of my GeForce 550 Ti's are dual slot cards.
    I love all the black in there. Glad you got an ATX board. Plenty of room for expansion.
    Does that board support SLI and Crossfire?
  8. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes it does, take a look at the bios photo and let me know if you see anything interesting. ;)
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Six cores?
    Drool drool drool
    :cool:
  10. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Nope not that...doh! something really big...
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Um what I see is:
    • 6-core AMD FX
    • 11 Ghz speed
    • 3 Ghz clock
    • 8 Gig RAM

    What is the Processor speed? Is that like a front side bus speed or HyperTransport speed?
  12. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hahaha, I don't know actually whats wrong with that, its kinda ridiculous if you ask me. :)
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    At first I thought you overclocked it to 11 Ghz... I would admit that is pretty "big"
    So what is it?
    Whats the surprise?
  14. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    How the hell its reporting 11Ghz that's it!
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Who knows.. that isn't the clock, so it must be something like front side bus speed.
    My older machine runs Core2Duo at 1333 MHz and its about 4 years old.

    So it makes sense that speeds are getting up into the 11 thousand hertz.
    I havn't done a lot of CPU research lately, maybe its time?
  16. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8

    Attached Files:

    booman likes this.
  17. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Work my minions, work! :)

    Attached Files:

  18. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Here is the result.

  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,496
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Did you edit this video in Linux or in Windows?
  20. ChrisBondWindows

    ChrisBondWindows Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    windows, I can do it in linux as well but I don't know which software to use.

Share This Page