1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PlayOnLinux Capture feature

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by booman, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Now you can automatically record the screen for your games in PlayOnLinux
    Capture

    I had no idea PlayOnLinux could do this in Linux. I'm going to try it out. Apparently you can record anything, not just games.
    So those video guides might become a reality!
  2. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Ok, Now I've read it! ":O}

    This is very cool! Have you tried it yet? can you post a home rolled trailer?
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Not yet, I will try it tomorrow morning... but if I can screen capture the desktop I will try doing some PlayOnLinux video tutorials
  4. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    The World seems to be just dying to help us! ":O}
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I havn't tried the capture feature yet, read my post in crashed!
  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Sigh...Don't forget to modify your fstab file!! ":O}
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wow, PlayOnLinux does not want to make it easy. I tried clicking "plugin" and then selecting "capture"
    I would get an error about something missing. I would install it with apt-get and then something else would be missing.
    Here is my list of everything missing. I'm sure there is a way to install all of it at once.


    lame
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lame
    vorbis-tools
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install vorbis-tools
    faac
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install faac
    ffmpeg
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ffmpeg
    ffmpeg2theora
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ffmpeg2theora
    libimage-exiftool-perl
    Code:
    sudo apt-get installlibimage-exiftool
    oggz-tools
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install oggz-tools
    oggvideotools
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install oggvideotools
    mkvtoolnix
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install mkvtoolnix
    transcode-utils
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install transcode-utils
    gpac
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gpac
    recordmydesktop
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install recordmydesktop
    The last one could not be found in apt-get, so I had to run Synaptic Package manager and search for it.
    synaptics package manager: transcode and associated packages

    After all of that, I can select 2 options when I run "capture"
    1. opengl
    2. non opengl

    then I get 3 options
    1. Begin the capture of an application
    2. Play a captured file
    3. Convert a captured file to video

    Of course I want to do #1, but its kinda confusing. When does the capture actually start?
    It will say "capture in progress" but then will go back to the 3 options.
    Apparently its not working. Something about disabling pulseaudio.

    I read on PlayOnLinux that you can start a capture with Shift+F8, but its not doing anything.
    Help me figure this out
  8. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Boy I wish I was the guy to do that!! But I'll wait here with you until help comes or you figure it out...want some pop corn?
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Way to step up Dan!

    I'll figure it out or at least find something else that will work.
    I got it to record me using PlayOnLinux, not too helpful, but you are supposed to be able to record any program that PlayOnLinux runs. so if you run Internet Explorer 6, it should record it.

    I'll keep playing around.
    Ideally, I want to record the desktop so I can do a video guide.

Share This Page