1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Skyrim troubles [resolved]

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by timeh, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it fixed the text issue and not starting and there is a few problems. but its starting and i can play it now. probllems i had before this text thing started was sound is fuzzy and squeaky voices the load time is longer sky ui and other things says skse not working properly. i did the install and uninstall of skse lots of times i also redownladed the others to. the menu for mods aint workin. but otherwise it plays now.
  2. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    oh and il keep going in the same direction because skyrim is doing a sticky keys thing.
  3. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i know its overwhelming .. but yeah just seeing if ya guys have solutions.
  4. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and booman have no idea howed that worked either. i dont even think i have a gig in video memory... lol. il play 30 minutes or more later have hw to do. i love you guys. almost ran out of hope for that game..
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I have no idea if mods work in PlayOnLinux. The static and squeaky voices is related to Alsa and Pulseaudio.
    There are several posts here about some quick fixes.
    I'll have to search for them
  6. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks man. mods do work there just iffy.(like everything else)
  7. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    When programs runs out of memory, it's hard for them to keep processing! I thought, "hey, maybe if he increases it it will work".

    Anyway, for your stick keys problem there's a solution. I haven't tested it myself but. Turn off keyboard repeats. In the terminal, type

    xset -r off

    When you are done playing, remember turning it back on! Else the backspace is gonna be a tad... annoying.
  8. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    xset: unknown option off(edit) its just xset -r
  9. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
  10. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    what does this mean? (skyrim isnt starting at all now thats why im askin)
    Code:
     Running wine-1.7.11 Steam.exe steam://rungameid/72850 (Working directory : /home/foster/.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/Skyrim/drive_c/Program Files/Steam)
    [0201/020902:ERROR:network_change_notifier_win.cc(174)] WSALookupServiceBegin failed with: 8
    [0201/020902:ERROR:gpu_info_collector_win.cc(103)] Can't retrieve a valid WinSAT assessment.
    [0201/021135:ERROR:renderer_main.cc(227)] Running without renderer sandbox
  11. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Those are normal errors. I've encountered them myself

    If you are using PlayOnLinux just go to Tools -> Close all PlayOnLinux software

    If you aren't using a wrapper then

    $ export WINEPREFIX=/PATH/TO/BOTTLE
    $ wineserver -k

    Sometimes processes hangs in WINE, it's something that commonly happens.
  12. timeh

    timeh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still doing the same thing allenskd
  13. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Could you open a new thread here? So we can isolate the issues you know, for future references.

    After opening the new thread please detail the problem you are currently experiencing, screenshots included if needed.

Share This Page