1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Soldier of Fortune OpenGL error

Discussion in 'WINE' started by megalanya, Sep 8, 2017.

  1. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I saw that. I replied as well.
    I always do a manual installation for all of my games. I never use PlayOnLinux installers/scripts.
    Tomorrow morning I am posting a step-by-step guide for Soldier Of Fortune Community Edition. Please check our homepage to see it.

    I guess the only thing I never asked you was... How are you installing Soldier of Fortune?
  2. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Standard method. Current Wine version is 2.17 Stagning.

    I installed PlayOnLinux to use other versions of Wine 2.0 to 2.17.

    PlayOnLinux crash log is here:

    https://gist.github.com/pustladi/89f52d090124d34467212a067d31de74
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    What exactly do you mean by standard method?
  4. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wine is already installed.

    I installed PlayOnLinux later to try out old versions of Wine.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh I totally forgot, you are using Wine alone.
    Wait until tomorrow and then follow my manual installation guide.

    The thing with Wine is if you use a wineprefix for several games and install different dependencies (overrides) it can break other games. I still think this is a driver issue, but if others can play soldier of fortune with AMD chips then it probably isn't.

    I've actually seen posts about a game not working and then they try Ubuntu and all-of-a-sudden it works!
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
  7. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    wow very nice screenshots!
    Try downloading the gallium nine wine version and try that as well.
    I think you confirmed it... this game just won't run on your AMD chip. I don't know exactly why, but it just won't.
  9. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    System's Wine version uses Gallium Nine. But it did not work.

    Screenshots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Do you have another computer or older laptop lying around you could try it on?
    Maybe downgrading your Opensource drivers might do it, but I would hate for you to do that.

    Also do some research with AMD and Windows OpenGL for Soldier of Fortune. You might find some tips we can try on the game or config files
  11. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do not have another computer. I think I can install Windows if I cannot solve it.
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    this game is old enough you should be able to play in a VM, but definitely research Windows OpenGL problems. I've seen problems in Windows for some games in PlayOnLinux and the fix for Windows fixed my game.
  13. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've already tried VirtualBox. It does not work. Because the virtual machine can not be install proprietary driver.

    My think Windows - Ubuntu dual boot.
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Here are some interesting tips, not sure if it will work in Wine, but worth a try.
    Also, it doesn't hurt to set Windows to 98 or Me or 2000 as a test

    Make sure the 3D hardware acceleration is turned all the way up.
    1) Right-click on the My Computer icon on the desktop and select Properties.
    2) Select the Performance tab and click the Graphics button.
    3) Make sure the acceleration slider is set to Full.

    For Windows XP and 2000:
    1) Click on the Start button > Settings > Control Panel.
    2) Double-click the Display icon.
    3) Click the Settings tab.
    4) Click the Advanced button.
    5) Click the Troubleshoot tab.
    6) Make sure the acceleration slider is set to Full.

    If after trying the above solutions the game still does not work, check the following:
    1) Click the Start button > Run and in the run box type "Sysedit" without the quotes and click the OK button.
    2) When Sysedit comes up you should see a bunch of cascaded windows, select the window that says Win.ini above it.
    3) The Win.ini window should come to the foreground, scroll through the list of items until you come to [DrawDib].
    4) Look for a line under [DrawDib] that says DVA=0 and remove it.
    5) Click File, then Save and close the Sysedit program.
    6) Try the game at this point.

    If you do not see the DVA=0 line under the [DrawDib] section, then this is not the cause of your problem. DVA stands for Direct Video Access, and is commonly set to 0 to fix issues with older games or video problems with old software. Unfortunately it causes the game to not recognize OpenGL support on your system as well. The only way to fix this is to remove that line. This should not affect anything on your system.
  15. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Described for Windows this. How are they done in Wine? It's very bad in my English. I do not know understand about this writes.
  16. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    In PlayOnLinux Configure, you can click the Wine Tab and then click Control Panel
    But I think most of the typical settings are not there in Wine.

    You can Run a Command Prompt from the Wine Tab as well. Try opening Command Prompt and type Sysedit
    It might not do anything...
  17. megalanya

    megalanya New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wine control panel does not have a Display settings:

    [​IMG]

    Sysedit is not available in Run or Cmd:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  18. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,468
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Dang, it was worth a try. I'm glad you found the "Run" tool. I didn't know it existed in Wine.
    I'll keep searching for solutions

Share This Page