1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tables BBC code

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box' started by booman, May 21, 2013.

  1. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    I did some research and found that BBC code does support tables:
    Code:
    [table][/table]
    [tr][/tr]
    [td][/td]
    We would be able to use tables to make rows and columns for lists and arranging information.
    Does this current interface support it?
  2. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    I'm not following your question. BB code can be inserted into any post, and you can also insert it into your signature.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Thats what I thought, but try the table tag and it won't work.
    [table][tr][td]BlaBlaBla[/td][td]BlaBlaBla[/td]BlaBlaBla[td][/td][/tr][/table]

    see... how do I get tables to work?
  4. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    BBCode can support pretty much anything we want to do. However, BBCode doesn't support ANYTHING unless it is configured in the software, and we aren't configured for a table BBCode.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Ah, thats it! No biggie, but I was thinking of using tables for Daniels Signature problem.
    Unless there is another way?
  6. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    CSS, not tables. There's nothing you can do with tables that you can't do with CSS. The only reason to use tables in modern HTML is if your presentation is truly tabular (i.e your intent is to present something as a table).
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    yeah, I don't use tables anymore either. Just DIV and CSS.
    So will BBC support CSS inline classes?
  8. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Sure, it's just a basic search/replace algorithm; pick the BBCode (think "name") you want to use, and type in the html code that gets translated to. Heck, I'll bet you could even embed some PHP script in it if you wanted, since it's all interpreted by the PHP backend.
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    Hmm, I may need an example...
    There are html tags that BBC supports, so are you saying to use CSS inline styles in the BBC tags and then I can decorate my signature?
  10. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Your confused about what BBCode is. You seem to think it's a specification or something. It isn't; it's not even a language. It's just a set of tags that the Xenforo code sees and substitutes other stuff for.

    Right now, on this board, the BBCode for an ordered list is
    Code:
    [list=1]
    [*]Item 1
    [*]Item 2
    [/list]
    That's just an arbitrary code. It doesn't HAVE to do that. It could just as easily turn your screen red. All that happens, is that the part of the forum code that handles the interpretation of BBCodes sees the
    Code:
    [list=1]
    code and says "Oh, that translates to the HMTL <ol> tag and each
    Code:
    [*]
    code translates to the HTML <li> tag, and the
    Code:
    [/list]
    code translates to the HTML </ol> tag". That's it. I could change that entry so that the
    Code:
    [list]
    code becomes the HTML <a href="www.aoaforums.com" style="color:red">" and it wouldn't care in the slightest.

    I can even create new BBCodes to do stuff. Let's say I wanted to be really nasty. I could make a bbcode called [nuke], and whenever that bbcode was seen by the forum software, it would substitute <script language=javascript>for(i=0;;i++);</script> and suddenly your browser would lock up.

    There's nothing magic about BBcode, it's just substitutions.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Virginia
    Home page:
    So are you saying that you could add or even change BBC code to do something completely different? Like custom HTML?

    I want to do something simple like this:
    <div style="width:10px; height:10px; border:1px"></div><div style="width:10px; height:10px; border:1px"></div>

Share This Page