1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The sims 4 and vcrun 2013

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by steve723, Jan 23, 2015.

  1. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I found the patch in wine staging that installs vcrun 2013. I posted the link in the POL forums several hours ago. No response from POL forums yet. I thought the POL devs might see it here faster since POL forums don't seem to be used as often any more. Here is the link to the patch on git hub https://github.com/SEEK-Jobs/chocolatey-package-vsagents2013
    I don't know how to test it via POL or I would.
  2. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    However in my case sims 3* dont need vc2013 meanwhile sims 4 yes need but only need have msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll in binary game folder

    However launcher some times dont work but this is easily fixable put direct access to sims 3 binary

    :)
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2015
  3. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I already have The Sims 3 working in POL. That was solved over 2 years ago. Now its time to get The Sims 4 working.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Can you disable or bypass the launcher for Sims4?
    I have seen some games (like Borderlands 2) require dotnet and vcrun just for the launcher. But if you bypass it, you can still play the game just fine.
  5. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yup, he saw it and asked to do a bug report
  7. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just did that. Hopefully we can get this running soon. I noticed there is a lot of tickets in the POL bug report section so I think it might take a bit. Unless they decied to raise its priority. Of course they have to be fair to every one when they think of raising a tickets priority so probably not.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Has anyone confirmed that it works?
  9. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Doesn’t work for this. We need to keep searching. I thought I found the answer but I was mistaken.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    That sucks... so many libraries we are waiting on. If some of them worked in Wine it would open up a big list of games:
    • vcrun2012
    • vcrun2013
    • dotnet45
    • directx10
    • directx11
    • QT5
  11. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Origin works good with wine 1.7.35, so I think qt5 has been solved.
  12. mrdeathjr28

    mrdeathjr28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    However EAproxy error at install time still stay, when this stay fixed origin maybe stay more usable as steam in download and install games refers
  13. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes but the point is QT5 is fixed now which means Origin can download. The ea proxy thing isn’t really an error. It just doesn’t die when its done. In Ubuntu just type [CRTL]+[ALT]+[ESCAPE] to bring up the task list and see if it is still active. When it stops showing a %, then you can kill it. It doesn’t annoy me, just a bit inconvenient. It is more like a fixme error. Fixme errors aren’t real errors. Mostly there just minor cosmetic problems. Like some graphical element not displaying correctly.

    Edit: [EA Origin]Unable to download game since the new version
    https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=31438.
    This bug is marked as Solved in wine 1.7.35
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2015
  14. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    @booman; Looks like wine 1.7.35 also fixes dotnet 4.5.2
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    No way!!!
    I'll have to check it out. That dotnet45 is required for most UDK games.
    I have a few I can test...

    I was told that QT runs natively in Linux, but of course the games don't
    So we are using Wine as a workaround, but QT5 still has some problems because we have to patch the qt5network.dll in order for it to work.
  16. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    2 things about qt5, 1. Wine says the Origin download problem is solved as I stated ubove and provided a link to the bug. 2. I tried wine 1.7.35 and Origin can download just fine.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    without the qt5network.dll patch?
  18. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yep. I just noticed the title of this thread is wrong. I ment it to be A sims 4 thread. I must have typed the number 3 by mistake and didn't notice until now.

    I just posted a comment from my bugzilla report from the wine-staging section on POL. You might find it interesting. http://www.playonlinux.com/en/topic-12653-2.html
    Its the comment on Friday 30 January 2015 at 22:12.
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I updated the title to Sims 4
    steve723 likes this.
  20. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought you might. Thanks.

Share This Page