1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bioshock Infinite now available on Linux!

Discussion in 'Games' started by allenskd, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Oh no...
    So are you going to wait for the new Nvidia driver or downgrade?
  2. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I will dowgrade to the latest stable, and see how that runs. I just have to search around a bit, and ask on the funtoo forums how to downgrade the graphics drviers, because I've never done that in a Gentoo like system before.

    I will definitely run a new clonezilla image of all my drives before proceeding because I've made a lot of changes since I last did an image.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Good idea, let us know if it works
  4. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Sure thing. Going to image my disks before I go out tomorrow because it takes a few hours then I will do the downgrade and report back if it works to run the games then.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    When you image, do you have /home on a separate partition so you only have to backup the OS?
  6. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I image the entire thing, even /home so I keep my user configs. I have a 180 GB SSD and a 2 TB HDD, and because of the 2 TB HDD taking an image takes at least 4-5 hours, but I like to be thorough.

    I image the disks, not the partition, so it also saves the mbr.
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wow, that is pretty fast for Clonezilla. I use it with 80GB partitions at work and it take an hour to backup, but 15 minutes to restore
  8. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    It's not the Nvidida drivers. Unless there is a problem with the stable Nvidida driver, which is unlikely.
  9. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I found the reason why some game wouldn't luanch. Tested one game now, moving on to the others. What I find strange is that I used Xfs on the Manjaro install that ran Borderlands 2 a little while ago, on the same 2 TB HDD.

    http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410/discussions/0/620695877288637183/?insideModal=1

    It's worth noting that most of my games work in my /home folder where I use XFS, but there are a few games that did not work.

    I created a EXT4 partition under 1 TB with a second library for steam, for the games that have not been ported correctly by the developers.

    Going to try to change the /home to less than 1 TB and install the problem games there again to see if that could also fix the problem.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, that is strange, but maybe its causing a permissions issue.
    One thing I noticed when I started using LinSteam, some games refused to launch and I would have to open up the permissions for the executable.
    But that was over a year ago. Today games and permisisons are just fine.
    Maybe its related?
  11. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    The issue still stands with Borderlands 2 and Bioshock Infinite.

    I will check the permissions for the game files, but that is odd considering that those games are in my home folder.

    Bioshock doesn't launch at all, but Borderlands 2 gets a window where the edges come up then the game crashes.
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015
  12. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I resolved the issue. Instead of using XFS for both root and home, which seemed to be a problem for either the two games or steam together with the two games.

    Now I use ext4 on root, ext4 on home partition which is less than 1 TB now.

    I will send an e-mail to Valve asking them what the problem might be.
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ah, didn't realize you were using a format other than ext4
    Mint has LVM, but I stopped using it and now only use ext4
  14. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Never har any problem with XFS until these games came along.

    Roing to clone my install then set up steamos with xfs and report back to aspyr that it's not a problem only related to non steamos, but it thought I made it perfectly clear to them that I had the same issue on several distros.
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,619
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Thanks for being so active on this problem.
    Its good to have it published online as well in case anyone else has similar symptoms.

Share This Page