1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems With Ryzom Crashing

Discussion in 'Games' started by blackcats, Oct 28, 2016.

1. blackcats

blackcats New Member

I am re-posting my original question again,as the suggestion I have been given does not work for me.

NOTE: I have had a stroke three years ago, and have some brain-damage, thus I am a perpetual newbie.

I have had a problem with a particular game for about fifteen months. The game is the Linux version of Ryzom. It is an MMORPG that has been around for about 10 years and it is based out of, I think, France.

Now, I have two monitors, a proprietary NVIDIA driver, and the video card is an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650. It runs on an 8-core processor (AMD FX 8350) and it is currently running under Debian Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64, 12GB of memory, and 5GB of swap space. I am currently running under 340.65-2 under nvidia-driver package and nvidia-kernel-dkms.

Here is the problem. It seems to me that my video driver crashes while playing, it reverts to running on a single monitor, and then I restart the game and *sometimes* after that, it runs fine, and sometimes the video driver crashes again, repeatedly.

In the past, I have used EVERY versions of the video driver, to no avail. I have set the driver to use a single monitor, to no avail. I have used kernel versions 3.14-2-amd64 and 3.2.0-4, to no avail.

Also, before I play that particular game, I need to poweroff my computer and use xfce or fluxbox as my windows manager, as I have compositing on KDE, and games do not work well with KDE+compositing.

Like I have said, I think it a problem with my video driver, but could also be a problem with my kernel. However, I do not think anyone else in the Ryzom community has this problem that I have.