1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Space Engineers

Discussion in 'Games' started by booman, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I found the cfg file. I miss read what you said.

    Is this what you are talking about?:

    <item>
    <Key xsi:type="xsd:string">GraphicsRenderer</Key>
    <Value xsi:type="xsd:string">DirectX 9</Value>

    Seems to be set to DirectX9 already.

    Since Keen put their source code up on get hub then maybe the wine devs have made some adjustments already.
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, I see what is happening too.
    This happened with me in Dragon Age: Origins
    I would play for a while and eventually start getting memory leaks.
    I know 64-bit is superior to 32-bit, but most games from the last 20 years were made for 32-bit only.
    For the most part it works perfectly! There are a few games that suffer and I'm not sure why?

    In the past the only fixes I have tried is:
    1. Lower the graphical/texture settings
    2. Use a Double-buffer patched version of Wine
    3. Increase the Video memory size (PlayOnLinux Configure)
    You can always try a 64-bit Wine and 64-bit virtual drive, but I have not experienced success from it yet.

    I just saw your last post...
    It appears to be using Direct X 9 already... so it has to be a memory leak
  3. steve723

    steve723 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    SE needs dot net 4. and wine only does that in 32 bit at the moment so 64 bit isn't even a possibility right now. The game can use 64 bit. Going forward 64 bit is a really good idea and will probably be necessary if only for the 64 bit memory addressing.I already set vram = 2048 Megs in POL video tab. It helps but dosn't quite solve everything. Since SE source is on get hub now via the devs, then maybe win devs can spot something... I hope.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok that makes sense now. In order to run the Direct X 9 executable you will need to use a 32-bit virtual drive and 32-bit Wine, but there are memory leaks. dotnet40 installs and runs just fine in a 32-bit virtual drive and Wine, so it might fix the memory leaks, but I doubt it.
    Might be better to test with patched versions of Wine in 32-bit of course

Share This Page