1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking about purchasing my first game on steam for Linux

Discussion in 'STEAM Powered Linux' started by Lorena, May 17, 2016.

1. Lorena

Lorena Member

Hi people:
    Well as the title says Im really thinking about buying my first game on Steam for Linux.
    BUT... I have some question cause Im a complete noob and dont know much about all this "thing".
    The Game I like is Magicka 2 - Love how it looks, Im prety sure im going to have hours of fun.

So here are my doubts:
    1 - I read about the system requirements but im not sure its going to run properly on my computer.
    Minimum:
    Linux Ubuntu 12.04
    CPU - 3GHz Dual Core (Intel Pentium G3220 or higher / AMD A4-4000 or higher)
    RAM - 2 GB
    GPU - Nvidia GeForce 550 or better / ATI Radeon HD 5850 or better
    Drive - 3 GB
    Sound - DirectX Compatible Sound Card

Ideal:
    Linux Ubuntu 14.04
    CPU - 2.8GHz Quad Core (Intel Core i5-2300 or higher / AMD A8-3850 or higher)
    RAM - 4 GB
    GPU - Nvidia GeForce 640 or better / ATI Radeon HD 6670 or better
    Drive - 3 GB
    Sound - DirectX Compatible Sound Card

My Computer:
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS (x86-64) - Wine version 1.8 - POL version 4.2.10
    Cinnamon version 2.8.6 - Linux Kernel 4.2.0-36 generic -
    RAM 3.2 GiB (has 2 memory cards 2 GiB each one - dont know why it keeps saying i have less ram
    Processor Intel Core 2 Duo CU E4600 @ 2.40 Ghz x 2
    Graphic Card Advanced Micro Devices Inc AMD/ATI Park (Mobility Radeon HD 5430)
    prog-if 00 (VGA Controller)
    My sound is onboard.-

2 - What happens if you purchase a game and it doesnt work on your computer? can you change the game or get your money back? How does it work?
    3 - Can you install the game directly on your ubuntu or you have to do some procedure or install something special for the game to work?