1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linus apologizes, announces 'time off'

Discussion in 'News' started by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018.

• by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018 at 5:55 AM
  • ThunderRd

ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

Home page:
    Extracts from yesterday's LKML:

"I need to change some of my behavior, and I want to apologize to the people that my personal behavior hurt and possibly drove away from kernel development entirely."

"I am going to take time off and get some assistance on how to
    understand people's emotions and respond appropriately."

"This is not some kind of "I'm burnt out, I need to just go away"
    break. I'm not feeling like I don't want to continue maintaining
    Linux. Quite the reverse. I very much *do* want to continue to do
    this project that I've been working on for almost three decades."

"This is more like the time I got out of kernel development for a while
    because I needed to write a little tool called "git". I need to take
    a break to get help on how to behave differently and fix some issues
    in my tooling and workflow."

The complete post here:
    http://lkml.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/1809.2/00117.html
  • Categories:

Comments

Discussion in 'News' started by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018.

1. cloasters

Home Free. Very difficult for me to imagine such a state of being. It's possible that I'll have to wait 'till just after my final breath to see if I am genuinely home free.
    Maybe I won't be. Duhn, duhm, Duhhn!

NB. Uh, oh, we may have split a thread here?
  2. Daniel~
    Until you find a way to forgive and love this world very little I say is going to strike you as possible.

George this world was made for you. You were made for it. If you want to know how solid your place is, just look at all the abuse you've suffered at the hands of an unfeeling world and at your own.

Look at the abuse you have given this world.